52-Week Project {Everyday Life | 2017 | Week 14}

You know what comes out in the spring?  Frogs.  We see them pretty steadily through the spring, summer, and fall.  There is a monstrous toad that lives in and around our fire pit (don’t worry–we check to make sure he’s not in it before we start a fire).  He sometimes ventures up to the garden by the door and startles me while I’m weeding.  Or sits right on our welcome mat, just inviting disaster.  We also have a garter snake that I’m a bit fond of.  Outside.  I really hope the two never meet.  I think the toad is big enough that the snake is not a threat, but I have seen what snakes can do to accommodate a very large meal.  Anyway.  I digress.  Frogs and toads emerge in spring.

And then sometimes we find one on our door.

Yes, you read that right.  ON our door.  A frog.  Just…there.

It can be a startling moment. When I open the storm door laden with a bag of garbage to deposit in the big can around the side of the garage or, worse, balancing (probably on someone’s recycled homework paper) a stink bug that I’m relocating to anyplace that is not inside my house, I do not expect to have an animal encounter facing me down.  I just want to get outside, do whatever task I’m trying to do, and come back in.  These aren’t bad encounters, though.  Once I get past that initial surprise, I’m always impressed that these frogs are just hanging out on my door.  As in vertically.  And just chill as can be.  That’s impressive.  I’m tired just looking at them!

Usually, they’re clinging to the window of the door.  It has only ever happened at night, and we are fairly certain they are just trying to get as close as possible to the outdoor light so as to better reach the bugs that congregate there.

Well, we had a door visitor this week.  A very tiny little visitor who was positioned a bit more carefully than our froggy friends usually hang.  This one was at least using a minuscule ledge to hold himself to the door.  I didn’t want to startle this little visitor with a bright flash, so I monkeyed with settings and made a go at snapping a photo before the frog decided to move on.  The outcome is quite grainy, but I’ll take it.  I was excited to have a quick snap to share with the boys when they woke up.

We’ve been in our house for almost 13 years, and this has really only been happening for about the last five.  Have any of you had a frog hanging out on your door or window?  I’m just curious as to how “normal” this event is.

More signs of spring, my friends.  It is arriving, piece by piece!

Wk14 | 52-Week Project | 2017
Photo specs: Nikon D810 | 105 mm | f 5 | 1/100 s | ISO 12800
Leave a Reply

