52-Week Project {Everyday Life | 2017 | Week 3}

Hello.  It’s Wednesday.  Last week, it was Friday.  The week before that, I didn’t even post in the right week.  Flexibility.  I’m three weeks in, though, and I’m still here.  We call this situation right here a win.

This week, I’m embracing a true everyday-life moment.  Sometimes I spot something around the house that isn’t where it’s supposed to be but is also exactly where it should be, and it just warms my heart.  Ever have those moments?  No?  Let me ‘splain.  They usually surround a mess of some sort.  Something that hasn’t been picked up, either due to…ahem…laziness OR (I like these better) because the moment isn’t finished.  Today’s photo is of the latter variety.  I may end up snapping a big mess at some point because those are definitely part of everyday life around here.  But not today.  Today is a paused moment.  And it has been shifted and then replaced where it doesn’t belong.  Logan (my eldest) has had a hankering for UNO lately.  Being the Harry Potter nerd that I am, we only own Harry Potter UNO.  I say unto Eldest, “You’re welcome!”  Because it’s just way more fun that boring old regular UNO.  Anyway, we were in the midst of a heated game on Sunday night when it was time for him to brush/shower/read/sleep.  So we left the game out, on pause.  We’ve since moved the on-hold game to the counter temporarily for homework (twice) and had dinner (twice) and knocked one hand to the floor (once) and gotten one parent grumpy about the lingering on-hold game (once).  We might finish the hand tonight…or not.  It won’t be before homework.  OH, and Youngest has play practice this afternoon so it probably won’t be after dinner as everything runs late on play-practice night.  Nope.  Tomorrow at best.

It’s not that the hands are stellar (especially for me—I have a bunch of cards in my hand at the moment and he only has four).  It has nothing to do with that.  It has everything to do with the time shared and the promise that we will do it again soon.  Now, I have my limits.  If it’s still sitting there on Saturday when I get my “clear this shizz up” gusto and reclaim our spaces en force, I will offer to finish the game with him then, and if he isn’t interested, I will let him know that I’m just going to tuck the cards away so we can find them next time we want to play.  And he will be okay with that.  For now, though, the on-hold game remains out.  Shifted back to the table at the moment.  And it’s making me smile every time I walk by it today.

As an aside, I haven’t really publicly defined any parameters for this little photo project of mine other than that I’m doing it, but I have set some rules for myself beyond just to snap photos and post them every week.  For one, only manual mode is allowed for the duration.  I’m often shooting in manual mode anyway, but I do use aperture priority with some regularity, too.  For this project, manual mode will be my exclusive option.  Also, I’ll rarely use flash.  That makes using manual mode a little more challenging, especially when it’s daylight but not bright.  It’ll force my hand a bit to stretch my knowledge of how to work some magic with my beastly camera.  In addition to having some fun with photos AND taking time to stop and see the details of life…to be in the moments, I do want to stretch my technical skills a bit.  That’s it.  Flexibility and simplicity.  Have a great rest of the week.  I’m not sure which day I’ll catch up with you next week, but until then, be well!

Wk3 | 52-Week Project | 2017

Leave a Reply

